I just wanted to go to Target.

Target Shopping Carts
Getting anywhere on time is impossible.  Let me rephrase.  Getting anywhere is impossible.  Anyone else feel the same?  I see moms walk into library programs late looking a little frazzled.  I hope that they don’t think that there is any judgement in my eyes because I get it.  In order to get somewhere I typically start two hours in advance getting everyone dressed, fed, and out the door.  And I still wind up leaving late.

Today was one of those days.  We have a wedding tomorrow and I am trying to responsible and purchase a gift prior to the day of the wedding, so I am being extra prepared!

I was feeling extra motivated this morning to get all three of us out of the house and head to the store.  Usually I don’t try and go to the store with all three girls because the process is crazy, and when we get to the store it takes five times longer to get it than if I had just waited for my husband to stay home with the girls and I run into the store.

But as I said, I was feeling positive that today would be an easy day to just run to the store.  Two of my girls already had clothes on, and In theory, all we should have had to do was the following:

  1. Twin girls Katherine and Layla go to the bathroom.
  2. Katherine gets on clothes.
  3. Twin girls put on shoes.
  4. Twins get hair brushed.
  5. Baby gets a diaper change.
  6.  Mom puts on shoes.
  7. Leave the house.

But an hour later, we still hadn’t left.  This is what happened.

Me: Girls, we’re going to the store.  We all need to go to the bathroom.

Katherine: I DON’T WANT TO GO.  I JUST WENT TO THE BATHROOM!  Throws a fit then goes to the bathroom, and then walks around butt-naked because she doesn’t want to put her underwear on by herself.

Layla: I just went Mommy.

Me: You’re right, thank you for reminding me.  Katherine thanks for going potty.  Let’s get your underwear on.  You try for a couple minutes and then if you can’t get it I’ll help you.

K: I DON’T WANT TO TRY.  IT’S TOO TRICKY.  (Now, let me tell you that her idea of trying is to sit down and start crying.  We’re working on her giving an honest effort, so we walk her through step by step.  Usually we are successful after a looooong fit.) Insert a 15 minute fit.

By this point, the usually happy Josephine is now cranky and ready for a nap so I nurse her and try putting her in the crib.  She doesn’t fall asleep because she has a leaky diaper and needs not only a new diaper but a new outfit.

I finally talk Katherine through putting her underwear on, and she is so excited that she did it all by herself.

So now, we’ve checked off #1, 2, and we’re ready for #3.  Which just happens to cause another fit.  Do you see a theme for this morning?  Can you guess who was throwing it? 🙂

15 minutes later and 2,000 tears later we have shoes on.

Thankfully, the hair brushing is smooth-sailing.  I leave the living room and go to the bathroom and go get a drink and a handful of trail mix.  I come back into the living room and am greeting with marker-covered faces.  Layla looks like she was trying to put on eye liner.  Katherine informs me that they were putting on make-up so they could go to the store.  A little surprising since I have put on make-up maybe a couple dozen times since they were born three years ago.

At this point (about an hour later), I am done, and Josephine is definitely needing to go down for a nap.  So she goes to the crib and I write this post.  As soon as I am done, I will be scrubbing off markers from my precious cherubs’ faces.

And when the baby wakes up we’ll start the process all over again.  Then again, maybe I’ll just wait until we leave for the wedding and run in and grab a gift card. 🙂

3 thoughts on “I just wanted to go to Target.

  1. We ended up planning an evening of supper out and shopping at Walmart to get a gift for said wedding. That way I had help with my 2. I’m so excited to meet your girls!

    • Anytime you go somewhere with you kids (whether you have one or three) is work. I remember enjoying it as a kid, but I didn’t realize how much work it was for the parents!

Leave a Reply

